March 8, 2003


  • "Get your kicks, on Route 66
    ....."


    (Tra-La-La)


    For those of you who dream of becoming (or already are?) real estate tycoons, I've discovered the niftiest opportunity. My area of the planet -- affectionately dubbed "Sunny Southern California" -- now offers a very interesting commercial property for sale.

    It's an entire small town ..... with a few homes, a working post office, cafe, motel and more, in the Mojave Desert ..... on Route 66.

    I wonder how many of you reading this, are old enough to remember the adventure and drama of the 1960's Classic TV series "Route 66", which starred Martin Milner, along with George Maharis, and a YUMMY CORVETTE CONVERTIBLE (DROOL!)?

    I have had occasion to recall the show, many times over the years. I was in my early 20's when it aired, and (having inherited the spirit of wanderlust from my dad), I've often wished I could've traveled with them. The series is a great "Oldie but Goodie"!

    An episode filmed at the now long-gone Pacific Ocean Park ("P.O.P."), on the beach here in Venice/Santa Monica, happens to be one of my fav episodes (and the only one I can significantly recall!). I loved that park, and I gleefully frolicked there many times before it was demolished.

    The place finally went belly-up, because they only charged $2 to get in, and all the rides were free --- awesome! (Even in the 60's, that was dirt cheap!) During the P.O.P episode of the show, I felt really close to the guys, as if they were visiting my house. (I've liked Marty Milner's work ever since, and it didn't hurt one little bit, that he was totally good looking!)

    As a result of the series, and my wanderlust spirit, I am always interested in anything having to do with the famous highway. So-o-o ..... when I heard a human interest blurb on my local all-news radio station yesterday, about an entire town being put up for sale on good ole' Ebay, I had to go online and check it out. The town's Ebay auction page provides great photos and graphics available for viewing, plus history of the locale (and of course, physical details about acreage, etc.). If I had the moo-la (opening bid is just under $1-Million ..... that ain't bad!), I would snap it up in a minute!!!

    I would love being the mayor of my own town, which brings me to the story of a similar situation from my past..... It was around the early-to-mid '80's, and my mom had somehow gotten hold of a special catalog. It contained pages of broadly various items, available for purchase by extremely wealthy folk.

    The most profound and memorable "object" for sale, was a private island in the middle of some sea. There was an aerial color photograph of the place -- probably by helicopter, because it was a clear, close-up view of the entire island and surrounding ocean, and it was quite magnificent. (It's not exactly the same, but check out this equally lovely for-sale item, a private island off the coast of Brazil.)

    I forget exactly how many acres (sorry for my senior moments); however my research for this weblog, leads me to "guess-ti-mate" there were 75-125 acres of oblong and oval-shaped land. There was a 3 or 4 story mansion and separate staff quarters at one end of the place (think of the gardening duties here!); plus elsewhere, a pier for boats and a helicopter landing pad. There was plenty of land for horseback riding and other outdoor activities, and I believe I recall the mention of livestock.

    It was a beautifully verdant spot, and I think one of the neatest things about it (other than the absolute privacy), was the fact that the owner would be king or queen or president -- of their own country! Whoever bought the place, could give it whatever name they wished, as well as pass laws, charge taxes, etc.

    Now, I know our American dollar went a lot farther in the 80's; but even back then, the price was beyond reasonable, at only $2-Million for the whole thing! Boy how I dreamed (still do!) of what it would be like to own my own magnificent mini-country. Talk about champagne tastes on a Kool-Aid income!!!

    Thanks for strolling with me, down lanes both memory and fantasy. I hope you enjoyed my word-picture(s), and I hope you'll have fun checking out the Historic Little Desert Oasis called Amboy, California.

    "Ciao Baby!", from The Original Arm-Chair-Traveling Earthmom!

    Tons of love, {{{hugs}}} & blessings,
    s.

    ~~~~~~~~~~

    Want to see more?

    If you're anything like me, you enjoy immersing yourself in subjects that pique your interest!

    With that in mind, here's a few additional links to get you started:

    ~~~~~~~~~~

    The TV Show
    Classic TV on The "About" Network
    "Tv Tome" - Show Data
    Link Index - Four TV Guide Covers
    Show Info - Per "IMDB"

    The National Highway
    Route 66 Photos, Old Postcards, etc.
    Route 66 In The Desert and Elsewhere
    The "About" Network & Highway 66
    "Mamma's" Route 66 Search Results

    The Amusement Park
    Pictures & History
    Detailed Topography
    "Mamma"s" P.O.P. Search Results

    History & Pictures of the General Area
    Venice - "Coney Island of the Pacific"
    Santa Monica Mountains National Park

    Islands For Sale
    Everything in Private Islands For Sale
    "Mamma's" Isles-4-Sale Search Results


    ~~~~~~~~~~
    ~~~~~~~~~~

    ~finis~


Comments (2)

  • People buy private islands where I live all the time.  But I would rather own my own little town.  A grown-up dolls house, SimCity come to life.

    All a dream. Haven't got any money

  • I remember the TV show.  I loved it because I loved Route 66.  My mom and I usually took 66 when we went to California every summer during most of the 'fifties.

    I remember Amboy, too.  We've stayed in that motel.  The Interstate Higway experience is nothing at all like it was on 66, but there are still some lesser "blue highways" that come close.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Comments

Categories